Juvenile Delinquency Prevention Councils

Kentucky Center for School Safety > Resources and Responders > Justice and Law > Juvenile Delinquency Prevention Councils

Juvenile Delinquency Prevention Councils

In 1988, the Department of Juvenile Justice created eight local prevention councils to serve the following counties:

  • Daviess/Henderson
  • Boone/Kenton/Campbell
  • Fayette
  • Hardin
  • Jefferson
  • McCracken
  • Warren

Each of the councils is responsible for developing a comprehensive local juvenile justice plan and conducting an assessment of needs and resources in the community. The plan is to be used to increase community awareness and participation in juvenile justice issues, to initiate local activities and programs to reduce and prevent juvenile crime, and to facilitate in the sharing of necessary information. Funding is available for programs that address issues identified in the local plans.

Members are appointed by the Commissioner of the Department of Juvenile Justice and must include representation from the following groups: 1) local law enforcement agencies, including the sheriff and local police chief; 2) local school system, including administrators, teachers, school counselors and parents; 3) Community Based Services; 4) Court of Justice, including the district court judge, the circuit court judge, the public defender, and the clerk of the circuit court; 5) the Commonwealth Attorney; 6) the County Attorney; 7) Juvenile Detention Facility; 6) Department of Public Advocacy; and 7) additional representation may include juvenile justice agencies, churches, youth, local government, mental health agencies, businesses and interested citizens.

Examples of programs funded by the councils that have an impact on schools include:

COLLABORATIVE STOP at Winburn Middle School in Fayette County–This program seeks to reduce chronic absences and discipline referrals by: 1) providing case management services including assessments and interventions, involving parents in case plans and offering parent education; 2) offer tutorial services and use college students and community volunteers as reading coaches; and 3) offer experimental learning modules, such as service learning, art and music workshops, job shadowing, life skills, and leadership skills

St. Boniface Neighborhood After-School Outreach Program in Louisville–This program provides after school care for neighborhood children, including a meal, tutoring, supervised play, and specialized social services for the child and family. It can serve 25 to 30 children ages 6 to 14.

Expression Through the Arts in Radcliff–This program provides youth ages 12 to 18 with an alternative way of expressing emotions associated with negative life experiences. It serves 10 to 15 youth per each nine-week period and the youth spends the time composing an art form. At the end of the nine-week session, there is a community arts presentation in which the youth publicly presents their dance, poetry, music, or other art form to other youth and their parents.

For additional information about the Prevention Councils, contact the Department of Juvenile Justice (502) 573-2738