Friday April 20th 2018
Hot Topics Hot Topics
Calendar Calendar

    Take the Get Involved Pledge

Free Resources Free Resources


Popular Articles Popular Articles

          facebook twitter email

Kentucky Center for School Safety

Kentucky Schools focus on providing a warm culture and climate for both students and staff conductive to high levels of productivity and outstanding academic performance.

In today's society, school safety is a daily issue that ranges from classroom management to school incident command for crisis situations. The Kentucky Center for School Safety staff is committed to providing training, resources, information and research.

This website is available for planning, training or emergency assistance.

Let us assist, as your schools plan and practice and prepare for the safest schools possible.   Toll Free  877-805-4277,

Tragedy Resources

School Safety Talking Points

View online programs and resources to assist schools as they respond to recent events. Topics discussed by Akers and Barrier:
• Active shooter responses
• Copycat threats
• Metal detectors and book bag checks
• Fire alarms
• Teacher and student relationships
• Parent responsibilities
Enter Name, Email Address and Passcode: 2018 to view Video
Dr. James Evans and Jon Akers of KY Center for School Safety

Mr. Jon Akers from the KY Center for School Safety and Officer Chris Barrier from the KY Association of School Resource Officers

Social Media/Internet Safety

School Resource Officer Awards

2016 – 2017 Kentucky Association of School Resource Officers (KYASRO) Award Winners
  • S.T.O.P.! Tipline TrainingSRO of the Year – Joel Shepherd (Erlanger/ Elsmere)
  • Administrator of the Year – Josh Hunt (Christian County)
  • Rookie SRO of the Year – Bryan Tackett (Russell Ind.)
  • KYASRO Awards of Merit –
    - Eric Sowers (Nicholasville)
    - Kevin Babcock (Powell County)
    - Leslie Gregory (Madisonville)
    - Clint Newton (Providence School)
    - Mike Townsend (Powell County)
    - Steve Tucker (Christian County)
    - Eric Evans (Logan County)

New S.T.O.P.! Tipline Partnerships


S.T.O.P.! TiplineSince January 1, 2018, KCSS is proud to announce that the following partnerships have been added to the S.T.O.P.! Tipline: Newport Independent Schools, Fort Thomas Independent Schools, Clinton County Schools, Knox County Schools, Owensboro Independent Schools, Williamsburg Independent Schools, Muhlenberg County Schools, Allen County Schools, Christian County Schools, Dayton Independent Schools, Garrard County Schools, Red Bird Mission School, Trigg County Schools, Nelson County Schools, Breckinridge County Schools, and Owen County Schools, and in Fayette County: Academy for Leadership at Millcreek Elementary School, Julius Marks Elementary School, Cassidy Elementary School, Wellington Elementary School, Russell Cave Elementary School, Deep Springs Elementary School, Arlington Elementary School, Lansdowne Elementary School, Maxwell Elementary School, Ashland Elementary School, Booker T. Washington Elementary School, Athens-Chilesburg Elementary School, Picadome Elementary School, Southern Elementary School, Coventry Oak Elementary School, and Glendover Elementary School.

For a list of all school districts on the S.T.O.P.! Tipline click here
For S.T.O.P.! Tipline resources click here


Newly Revised Emergency Management Resource Guide


2015 KCSS Annual ReportKCSS is proud to announce the release of the newly revised Emergency Management Resource Guide and Emergency Management Quick Reference Guide:

Highlight on School Safety

School Safety Resources & Research

Arming Teachers to Mitigate School Shootings - Arming Teachers as a Means to Prevent and Mitigate School Shootings: Assumptions, Readiness, and Contrast to Law Enforcement Officers Involved in Encounters with Armed Assailants, by Sheldon Greenberg, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
Metal Detectors in Clay County Schools
- The purpose of this paper is to explore benefits and complications with the use of metal detectors in a school setting. By: Deann Stivers Allen, PhD
What You Can Do to Help End Bullying... National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

While bullying doesn’t cause suicide, a stressful environment and persistent, emotional victimization can increase a person’s risk of suicide. Together, we can create awareness about the dangers of bullying and give emotional support to those who may be contemplating suicide. If you or someone you know is in an emotional distress or suicidal crisis, please call the Lifeline at 1-800-273-TALK (8255).

Current School Safety News

  • Allen County Schools add two more resource officers – April 11, 2018 – WBKO - ALLEN COUNTY, Ky.  …"We're actually adding two SRO's. We started the school year with two," said Assistant Superintendent of Allen County Schools, Brian Carter. … The job's sole mission is the, "safety of the children, that's our main concern," explained Officer Jackson. …
  • Indicators of School Crime and Safety: 2017 – March 29, 2018 - A joint effort by the National Center for Education Statistics and the Bureau of Justice Statistics, this annual report examines crime occurring in schools and colleges. This report presents data on crime at school from the perspectives of students, teachers, principals, and the general population from an array of sources… The report covers topics such as victimization, bullying, school conditions, …
  • Districts learn about free tipline for school safety – March 8, 2018 – KYStandard - The S.T.O.P. Tipline (Safety Tipline, Online Prevention) allows students, parents and community members to report bullying, violence or risky behaviors using an online form. The service is offered free to districts by the Kentucky Center for School Safety (KCSS). ... Karen McCuiston, resource center director for KCSS, met with several regional school districts …
  • More News...